Recipe: A Rainy Day in June-uary

This is the view I went to sleep to last night: This morning, I woke up and the city was gone.  It had disappeared behind an intense veil of rain, clouds and wind the likes of which are usually reserved for January.  I pulled out my iPhone and checked the weather for today – the hourly report noted some clouds through 1pm, with sunshine breaking through and highs pushing into the upper 60s.  Phew! … or so I thought.  The weatherman was dead wrong about today – it’s 7:00pm and the sun is barely breaking through – and something tells me that he’s achingly wrong about tomorrow.  While the rest of the country seems to be enjoying blue skies and sweltering temperatures, those of us stuck in Seattle are still wearing our Hunter rain boots, North Face fleeces, and layer upon layer of flannel while pounding Vitamin D supplements.  Does anyone besides me find all of this sick and wrong?

If not, here’s something that might: today, I threw the towel in on summer.  Somewhere between my mad sprint to Excellence for a training session with Kaisa and the hottest shower of all time (to cure my soaking wet, numb toes), I decided that today I would pretend it was January (or June-uary, as we’ve taken to calling it here).  I grabbed a blankie, cuddled up with Blaze, and read books / watched bad television all day long.  And now? I’m making meatloaf for dinner.  Meatloaf.  In June. Coupling this dinner is mashed sweet potatoes, which I love but usually consider a bit of an indulgence.  But today’s workout kicked my butt.  I could feel every ab and glute and hamstring fiber twinge through almost the entire thing.  I am, without question, going to be incapable of graceful movement tomorrow. Intense workout + worst June weather I have ever seen = unseasonable justification for comfort food.

Pork Meatloaf

Ingredients:

1 lb. ground pork

1 large egg

4 Tbsp. almond flour

1/2 tsp. salt (optional)

1/2 tsp. pepper

1/2 tsp. ground cumin

1 c. coconut milk

1 Tbsp. coconut oil

1 yellow onion, diced

7 crimini mushrooms, sliced

10 baby carrots, roughly chopped

1/2 c. fresh parsley, chopped

4-6 strips bacon

Method:

1. Mix pork, egg, almond flour, coconut milk and spices in a large bowl.  Refrigerate for about 15 minutes

2. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

3. Add coconut oil to large sauté pan over medium heat.  When oil is hot, add onion, mushrooms and carrots and sauté until softened and slightly browned (7-10 minutes).

4. Combine vegetables, parsley, and meat mixture.  Shape into a loaf in an ungreased baking pan, adding the bacon strips across the top of loaf.

5. Bake for 60-75 minutes, or until fully cooked.

* Any juice surrounding the loaf when it is complete can be tossed or reserved.  I tossed mine – random meat juice isn’t really my thing.

Leave a Reply

