Training Update: The Long Run

I’m not sure about how most runners feel, but my favorite part of training for half and full marathons is the long run.  Once a week for the next four months, I get to leave the puppy at home, turn off my pedometer, blast trashy hip-hop and pop music, and roam around Seattle for as many as 24 miles in one morning.  I recognize that most people read the last bit of that sentence and thought, “this chick is insane.”  I get it.  A 24 mile run does not, on paper, sound like a good idea.  It sounds hard, and unnecessary, and like something that would immobilize an individual for days to come.  But the act of running a distance that extreme is actually kind of beautiful – it’s a test of physical and mental endurance, in which my body has to find a way to beat out a mind that pretty much always just wants to hit the pub.

Today’s long run was glorious for two reasons:

1) Seattle actually looked like a city that was experiencing something that might resemble summer.

2) I finished in an astonishingly fast time.  11 miles in 1 hour and 42 minutes, which is insane for me.  I have never ran 11 miles that quickly.  Ever.

But really, Seattle really came out of her gray, gross shell for about 24 hours – which really propelled me to run harder than I likely would have if I had decided to do the long run on a day like Monday.  Hopefully the See Jane Run half marathon is graced with blue skies – if it is, I am almost certain to PR on race day.  Woot! Here’s some scenes from today’s run, which you’re likely to agree was a pretty stunning tour of my pretty little city.

Burke Gilman Trail

Can’t wait to fly one of these things (someday)!

The City’s icon, before being enveloped in clouds (again).

One thought on “Training Update: The Long Run

  1. Congrats on your 11 miler! I agree with you, I absolutely love the long run part of training. The best ones are the 15-18 milers, where I know that I will be out on the trails for a long time, but not so long that I won’t be able to walk the next day.

Leave a Reply

