Recipe: Booker Bundles

I am almost constantly on the go.  In fact, there are only a few things that I can safely say I do at home every day: sleep, write and shower.  Sometimes, I look at the couch that I spent a month’s rent on and wonder why I even bought it.  Poor thing hasn’t even been napped on yet!  Seriously though, puppy playtime, marathon training, work, friend dates and family dinners keep me away from home more often than not.  Since I’m constantly hungry these days and following the Whole 30, I’ve had to get creative about how to fuel my body.  Power Balls are fantastic, but a girl’s got to mix it up a bit.  Enter in Booker Bundles.  What’s a Booker Bundle? It’s my (hi, I’m Booker) take on trail mix.  After buying a couple of Steve’s Original Paleo Kits, I decided to get economical and create my own.  I’m not the biggest fan of jerky, so I leave them out of Booker Bundles in favor of extra nuts for added protein.  I plan to mix it up seasonally with these guys (this version features dried summer fruits).  Raisins, blueberries, strawberries, dried apples, macadamia nuts, pecans and (if you like) jerky would be great substitutions for anything below.  Mix it up, just make sure to keep everything unsweetened and unprocessed.

Booker Bundles

Ingredients:

1/2 c. unsweetened, dried bing cherries

1 sheet “Nothing But Banana”, torn (find it at Trader Joe’s!)

10 dried mission figs, dried

1/2 c. raw almonds

1/2 c. raw pistachios

Method:

1) Toss all ingredients together, pack into a bundle and hit the road!

Total Time: 5 minutes

Yield: 3 cups – serving size depends entirely on whether or not your bundle will be a snack or a meal

Leave a Reply

