Recipe: Perfect Paleo Muffins

It might be difficult to believe, but I have loved everything that I have made since transitioning to a Paleo diet – with one grand exception: the baked goods.  From pancakes to cookies, I have found Paleo baked goods to be poor substitutes for the fluffy, sweet, cakey concoctions that are made from devilish AP flour.  Pre-Paleo, I was the go-to baker for every birthday cake and holiday treat at family gatherings and my cookies were widely requested by everyone who ever had the chance to try one.  As ironic as it may seem, baking and childhood obesity prevention were tied for first-place for how I planned to earn a living when I grew up.  Then, I bid farewell to grains and dairy and refined sugar… and my baking life has been a disaster ever since.

Until today, when I finally found a recipe that I could work with.  A recipe that was almost too easy, that definitely had too few ingredients.  That I barely had to tweak at all and nailed on the first try (although I think my second batch was better).  Ladies and gentlemen, I have found the perfect recipe for Paleo muffins.  And you know how I know they’re good?? I couldn’t try a single one.  Thanks to the Whole30, I am unable to devour anything that resembles a “Paleo Cheat” for the next 27 days.  As such, I innocently plopped these bad boys in front of a crew of non-Paleo enthusiasts.  They ate them all.  After the last muffin went down, I was tempted to tell my co-workers that they had just eaten (and enjoyed) a dozen gluten-dairy-sugar-free muffins.  But I didn’t want to kill their muffin buzz, so I kept it to myself (minus the smug grin I will be wearing all afternoon).

Thanks to Sarah Fragoso at Everyday Paleo, I am no longer convinced that I will have to live a life free from the occasional muffin or chocolatey treat.  I was one failed recipe away from throwing in the Paleo towel when it came to dessert – thanks to these muffins, I am determined that I can figure out a way to make Paleo goodies something that everyone in my life looks forward to.

Apple Muffins

Paleo Apple Muffins

Ingredients:
2 1/4 c. almond meal
4 large eggs
1 apple, finely chopped
1 ripe banana, mashed into oblivion
1/4 c. coconut oil
1/3 c. water
1/2 tsp. baking soda
1 heaping Tbsp. cinnamon
Coconut sugar, for sprinkling over top of muffins

Method:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Mix all ingredients (minus the coconut sugar) together in a large bowl – no need to use an electric mixer for this recipe; I used a wooden spatula.  The batter will be slightly less thick than pancake batter in consistency.

2.  Place muffins cups into a muffin pan and fill 3/4 full with batter.  Sprinkle tops with coconut sugar.  Bake for 15-17 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the middle of the muffins comes out clean. Enjoy immediately or store in the fridge for up to a week.

Prep time: 5-10 minutes
Total time: 30 minutes
Serves: 16 individual muffins (for 7-9 people)

Apple Muffins Stored

Leave a Reply

