Recipe: Paleo. Chocolate. Candy. Bars.

Holy smokes, do I have a sweet tooth.  Given the opportunity, I could eat an entire sheet pan of banana bread pudding at El Gaucho before crossing the street to Macrina Bakery and devouring four turtle brownies.  This is not an exaggeration.  In fact, a major part of my reluctance to commit to Paleo and the Whole 30 program has been my absolute fear of leaving behind chocolate, caramel, ice cream goodness that I use to cap off pretty much every single day of my life.  In all reality, I could force myself to give treats up today… but that wouldn’t be very fun.  I have until July 9th to wean myself of all sweet and wonderful things.  These candy bars meet my criteria of easy + delicious + moderately healthy.  They’re 100% Paleo, but not exactly compliant with the Whole 30 program (thanks to the honey).  My sweet tooth loves them.  I’m pretty sure yours will too.

100 times more satisfying than any Snickers bar

Paleo Chocolate Candy Bars

Ingredients:

3 Tbsp. coconut oil

1 Tbsp. raw honey (remove for Whole 30 compliance)

1/4 c. unsweetened cocoa powder

1/2 c. roughly chopped raw nuts (I used almonds and walnuts)

3/4 c. unsweetened coconut flakes

Parchment paper

Method:

1. Melt coconut oil and honey over medium heat in a small sauté pan.

2. Stir in cocoa powder, nuts and coconut flakes.

3. Pour mixture over piece of parchment paper and use spatula to form into a square. Fold parchment paper over mixture and refrigerate until hard (appx. 4 hours). Cut into pieces and serve!

Prep time: 10 minutes

Total time: 4 hours

Yield: 4-6 candy bars

2 thoughts on “Recipe: Paleo. Chocolate. Candy. Bars.

Leave a comment